You’re not alone

{Special note: my original idea for today’s post on “you’re not alone” changed because of my commute home yesterday/early morning. God blessed me with a new piece to write derived from the experience; I pray it’s the word someone may need now.}

During a 16-hour commute home due to the weather conditions, I listened to talk radio for the traffic conditions and weather reports. Family members called pretty frequently to check-in and my friends sent text messages to receive updates on my progress. They were worried about my long treacherous commute. It was a difficult commute due to the road conditions, traffic volume, and large number of vehicles stranded along the side of the road. I understood their concern; but due to the situation, my attitude was not the best.

I was alone…

  • to travel the icy roads,
  • to handle my safety concerns,
  • frustrated and tired <– Bad combination
  • irritable and hungry <– Really really REALLY bad combination

Worried family and friends called so often that I could no longer handle the calls and questions. I was frustrated, tired, and hungry-the perfect equation for a bad attitude. In addition, I was alone. I know each of them wanted to be of assistance but no one could be there to help; it was only me. Alone to handle a difficult commute home. Just simply alone to handle another situation in my life.

The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. —Deuteronomy 31:8 (NIV)

Tired of all the traffic/weather updates, I changed the radio station from the to the local jazz station.

I began to pray to God for traveling mercies for myself and others along the way.

I called my family every hour to give them updates; keeping calls short in order to focus on the road.

I prayed over my prayer requests list I keep in my phone; prayed over the desires and concerns of family and friends. {Note: ask your family and friends how you can pray for them. The experience will enrich your life.}

I prayed for those stranded on the highways and interstates, those without a home or meal, and for everyone I could think of in the wee hours of the night. The one thing I knew I could do, I did. I prayed.

Something happened. The prayers transitioned from covering of basic needs to the expression of gratitude.

I began thanking God for keeping me calm while traveling the icy roads. I expressed my gratitude for my husband filling the gas tank (because I’m notorious for riding on fumes); the gas lasted the 16-hour commute. I thanked God for the tire traction and steering wheel control. I thanked God for everything dealing with my commute.

My prayers had changed from expressions of gratitude to full praise and worship in my vehicle. It was church service on wheels while maneuvering the icy roads. At that point, I had a second wind in the wee hours of the morning as I continued my track home; a renewal experience of my mind during the long commute.

We need quiet time to examine our lives openly and honestly – spending quiet time alone gives your mind an opportunity to renew itself and create order. —Susan L. Taylor

There are times in your life when you feel alone or alone in your situations. No matter your situation—being single, enduring marriage challenges, treacherous commutes, or any situation—remember you’re not alone. If you experience feelings of being alone, renew your mind through prayer, gratitude, praise, and worship. God will minister to those feelings and replace them with His peace and presence.

For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone. —Audrey Hepburn

~Angela

Fight. Finish. Faith. (2 Timothy 4:7 NKJV)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Grab a cup of encouragement from the Coffee For Your Heart: 2014 Encouragement Challenge by Holley Gerth. Sharing an encouraging word every Wednesday

Coffee-for-Your-Heart-150

About Life and Shifting Seasons

Lover of God, jazz music, movies, books and nature. Southern girl. Smiling face. Spelman grad. Delta Diva. Almond butter/Nutella addict. RunningNerd. Aspiring author. Blogger. Focusing on living an Ephesians 5:16 life… Making the most of EVERY opportunity!
This entry was posted in Coffee For The Heart, Gratitude, Inspiration, Mind Games and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to You’re not alone

  1. Shavay says:

    Now that is the epitome of gratefulness and grace during uncertainty! God will speak to us through many situations. We have to make sure that we are receptive to His word that can be spoken clearly during our time of feeling “alone”. His grace is sufficient, and His love comforts us when we need it the most. I thank God for His angels encamped around so many yesterday & even today, but I especially thank Him for your ability to praise your way through your circumstance & to a home that is filled with unconditional love. He will truly never leave or forsake us. God bless you!

    • AMEN!! God has a message in any and every situation of our lives. It’s up to us to be in tune to receive His lessons in each situation. God bless you and may He continue to speak through you in every life experience. XO ~Angela

  2. Andrea says:

    To God be the GLORY….HE DID THAT!!!! Truly a TESTimony….You definitely passed the TEST…

  3. holleygerth says:

    Thank you for the reminder that we’re not alone! So glad you linked up with Coffee for Your Heart this week! XO

  4. Visiting via Coffee for your heart. Quiet time to reflect is my favorite. I’m so glad you got home safe.

  5. Jeri Taira says:

    visiting via Coffee For Your Heart. Quiet time to reflect is my favorite. So glad you got home safely. What a wonderful time you had with God.

    • Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog, Jeri!

      Thanks to the grace of God I made it home safely. That time alone blessed my spirits and blog post. God has a way to speak to us through words and life experiences. It’s all about being receptive to His ways. ~Angela

Leave a Reply

