Success achieved with the follow-through of the swing.

In the finals days of my March Madness, I’m struggling this last week of challenges and the follow-through of my efforts are slowly fading. However, I am remaining committed to my challenges and, no matter the circumstances, I’m finishing this month strong.

With the weather changes this week, I felt sluggish and, as if fighting off a possible cold, tired al day. Dragging around, I waited until this evening to complete my running miles and this blog post. I could’ve let the challenge go today, using the “I’m not feeling well” excuse; however, I refused to give into using an excuse and pressed on to follow-through.

Merriam-Webster defines follow-through as:
Main Entry: fol·low–through
Pronunciation: \ˈfä-lō-ˌthrü, ˌfä-lō-ˈ, -lə-\
Function: noun
1 : the part of the stroke following the striking of a ball 2 : the act or an instance of following through

Examples of the follow-through swing:

20130326-221225.jpg

20130326-221240.jpg

20130326-221427.jpg

The follow-through–in a golf stroke, a baseball pitch, the backhand swing in tennis, or a quarterback’s pass–plus one’s effort equals success for completing a defined goal. As in sports, the follow-through is equally important for success in completing our goal in life. Achieve success with the follow-through of the swing.

Dedication (effort) plus commitment (follow-through) equals success for our defined goals we set. We can place our efforts into a defined goal and yield no success unless we are committed to the follow-through. To be successful, we should set our sights on the goal and succeed with the follow-through of the goal.

1) Define the goal – writing a novel, creating a healthy lifestyle, obtaining a new job, enhancing career skills, running a number of miles each week, etc.

2) Create a plan for each goal.

3) Set a completion goal – write 250 words a day, eat healthy for 30 days, job search/apply each day, take a class once a quarter, run/walk 100 miles in 2 months, etc.

4) Complete the defined goal – assign an accountability group to keep you on task.

5) Celebrate the achievement.

Goal + Follow-Through = Success

Finish strong! 💪

~Angela
Fight. Finish. Faith. (2 Timothy 4:7 NKJV)

About Life and Shifting Seasons

Lover of God, jazz music, movies, books and nature. Southern girl. Smiling face. Spelman grad. Delta Diva. Almond butter/Nutella addict. RunningNerd. Aspiring author. Blogger. Focusing on living an Ephesians 5:16 life… Making the most of EVERY opportunity!
This entry was posted in Focus, GOAL - Getting On Another Level, Inspiration, Living, NaBloPoMo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Success achieved with the follow-through of the swing.

  1. Keshawn says:

    Angela, I can totally relate to this post! I truly believe the weather affects my mood. Rainy days and cold temperatures bring out the grump in me and can be a de-motivator especially when it comes to exercise. Thanks for sharing your challenges and for posting every day this month. Your words are very inspiring.

    • Thank you Keshawn for reading my blog and posting a comment. I appreciate your words and encouragement.

      I agree…. The weather, particular the “winter blues”, can wreck havoc on our moods. It’s been hard to stay motivated this month to run, write or do anything productive because the outdoors are so somber and minimum sun to energize our spirits. We have to fight hard to stay on task.

      Keep following- through in all your endeavors and success will sure to follow.

      Blessings,

      Angela

  2. Courtney says:

    I was just thinking along the same lines! I need spring (real spring) so that I can some more “spring inmy steps” and do a lot better about follow-through!!! Thank you for inspiring me to do better about that!
    -Courtney

Leave a Reply

