One Word 2013 – ACHIEVE

Since I’ve started my blog, I’ve connected with some fascinating bloggers–experienced and amateurs like myself–that I follow. From reading various blogs, I linked up to the One Word 365 Community from the One Word 365 blog. The One Word focus inspired me, to set the tone for this year, and to have one word describe my 2013 goals and focus. I’m a little late getting started; but nevertheless, I’m starting.

My word for 2013…

Achieve: accomplish, bring about, complete, finish, fulfill

ACHIEVE:
Dictionary.com: a·chieve [uhcheev]; verb, a·chieved, a·chiev·ing
Merriam-Webster: verb \ə-ˈchēv\

  1. To bring to a successful end; carry through; accomplish.
  2. To get or attain by effort; gain; obtain.
  3. To bring about an intended result; accomplish some purpose or effect.
  4. To carry out successfully.
  5. To get or attain as the result of exertion.
  6. To succeed in something, now especially in academic performance.
  7. To carry out successfully; to accomplish.
  8. To conclude, finish, especially successfully.
  9. To obtain, or gain (a desired result, objective etc.), as the result of exertion; to succeed in gaining; to win.
  10. To conclude, to turn out.

ACHIEVE defines the shift and focus of my 2013 goals, to be intentional and execute, in every area of my life. My one word sums up what I want to accomplish, bring to pass, complete, fulfill, produce, work out, to ACHIEVE for 2013. I can achieve the goals, visions, and desires that I have for me life. The power to fulfill it all is within me as long as I believe, have faith, stay focused and be willing to take risks… I can ACHIEVE:

–the balanced life I desire,
–a loving relationship,
–obtaining a career that is fulfilling and of service to others,
–my highest fitness level possible,
–a training program to successfully complete 26.2 miles,
–consistency with daily prayer and meditation,
–taking risks and live outside the comfort zone,
–spiritual and emotional connection to my Source (last listed because it is the foundation of EVERY thing to me).

“Only those who attempt the absurd can achieve the impossible.” ―Albert Einstein

This year, I am determined to be intentional about my goals, visions, and desires because I want to achieve them all. One particular goal–writing a novel–continues to collect dust on the “writer’s block” and “I’ll work on it tomorrow” shelves. I’ve enabled the words, characters, and book scenes to float away into the abyss of my nightly dreams. I’ve used the writer’s block excuse so long that the block has turned into 1 of the 5 boroughs of New York City. BUT… This year, I will implement a plan to snatch that book off the shelf, bust the writer’s block, get that book out of my dreams and into the reality of 250-words per page. If I use the recommended advice of Victoria Christopher Murray–“write one word a day”, I will achieve completing my novel on my time and at my pace.

Synonyms of Achieve

The synonyms of ACHIEVE describe the significance and force of this year for me.

First step, retool my vision board. Focus on setting a goal for each individual area on my vision board. Next, design a realistic plan to fulfill each goal, i.e., write one chapter in 60 days and run a mile daily. Continuing the process, take small breaks–in between achieving goals–to smell the roses or, what I like to call, celebrate the increments. Small achievement celebrations are necessary for motivation and fueling the passion to fulfill specified goals.

“To accomplish great things we must not only act, but also dream; not only plan, but also believe.” ―Anatole France (From an introductory speech at a session of the Académie Française, December 24, 1896)”

Believing, planning, and achieving,

~Angela
Fight. Finish. Faith. (2 Timothy 4:7 NKJV)

Thank you to Melanie of Only A Breath for creating my One Word 2013 button. If you would like to receive your own button, click on the email link embedded in her name to request a One Word 2013 button for your blog, vision board, or create something neat with it. Join the Monthly One Word Link-up Party on Melanie’s page.

Let's Link-Up!

Let’s Link-Up!

About Life and Shifting Seasons

Lover of God, jazz music, movies, books and nature. Southern girl. Smiling face. Spelman grad. Delta Diva. Almond butter/Nutella addict. RunningNerd. Aspiring author. Blogger. Focusing on living an Ephesians 5:16 life… Making the most of EVERY opportunity!
This entry was posted in Faith, Focus, Inspiration, NaBloPoMo, One Word 2013, Purpose and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

