Reality Bites… Back to work I go!

Reality Check

And it begins again… Reality bites! It all started over again for me yesterday; my return to work from medical leave. For twelve weeks, I’d been on medical leave from work while recuperating from surgery. The time off for medical leave presented me the opportunity to rest and refresh myself from my hectic, stress-filled job for a few weeks. In addition, it was an excellent time for me to start back reading and writing.

“If we are not allowed to deal with small problems, we will be destroyed by slightly larger ones. When we come to understand this, we live our lives not avoiding problems, but welcoming them them as challenges that will strengthen us so that we can be victorious in the future.” ― Jim Stovall

And so my writing and blogging began… During the month of November, I participated in the BlogHer’s National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo) challenge. This challenge encouraged me to write and post during the month of November. Requirement: to post Monday through Friday, resting or writing on the weekends, throughout the month. It was an awesome way for me to be motivated to write again, since the last time I posted on my blog was earlier this year. I continued to flow with the blogging using writing prompts by WordPress and those listed on the BlogHer website. There were days I had my challenges and there were those “motivated by experience” days where my writing simply flowed. It was a nice grove until my brick wall…

“The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out. The brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. Because the brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want it badly enough. They’re there to stop the other people.” ―Randy Pausch

My “brick wall” is the source of my income, my livelihood and it pays the rent. This brick wall is an obstacle for me in having a work/life balance; it’s all work and little-to-none life. Work sucks the absolute life out of my life. I rarely look at television, read a book, try a new recipe to cook, do dinner with friends, or simply enjoy my personal time after 5 o’clock. Those are some of the things I had to opportunity to do while I was on medical leave! It took me to be on medical leave to read 3-4 books, start blogging, cooking again, trying new recipes and to watch television! WOW!! That’s what it feels like to come home and not have to do anything work related! [Side note: Before anyone assumes I’m being ungrateful, please know I am grateful for a paycheck! I didn’t say the “brick wall” was my paycheck; it’s the job itself that is the “brick wall”.]

My first day back to work resulted in two things: 1) I came home after 5pm only to do more work until 10:30pm and 2) no blog post. [I’m surprised I’m attempting to write something tonight since I’m tired out of my mind! Please forgive me for any typos and/or sentences that absolutely make no sense. I’ll check this over in the morning.] It is evident that I need to make major changes in order to have balance in my life again. If I don’t, I’ll have the same results as before – burned out and not enjoying life. I refuse to return back to that unbalanced life!

“Embrace each challenge in your life as an opportunity for self-transformation.” ― Bernie Siegel

This shift back to reality is about adjusting sails. It’s about doing what is necessary to “catch the winds” in order for me to sail into my destiny. I will have to embrace this challenge of returning to work by:

1) Creating a manageable work/life balance to my best ability.
2) Search for something that would be rewarding and with purpose.
3) Planning a schedule in order to enjoy some personal time.
4) Soak up all the motivation my soul needs to tackle on the challenge.
5) Refresh my spirit by seeking inspirational quotes, messages and books.
6) Set writing goals so that I will not go missing for 3-6 months from my own blog!
7) Enjoy the simple things of life… walking in the park, reading a book outdoors, volunteering, listening to jazz music and and enjoying a nice glass of wine. Just the simple satisfying things of life.

I’m waiting, believing and shifting.

~Angela
Fight. Finish. Faith. (2 Timothy 4:7 NKJV)

About Life and Shifting Seasons

Lover of God, jazz music, movies, books and nature. Southern girl. Smiling face. Spelman grad. Delta Diva. Almond butter/Nutella addict. RunningNerd. Aspiring author. Blogger. Focusing on living an Ephesians 5:16 life… Making the most of EVERY opportunity!
This entry was posted in GOAL - Getting On Another Level, Purpose, Reality Bites, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Reality Bites… Back to work I go!

  1. Tina says:

    Thanks for sharing your life with us. Very interesting read and very inspiring!

  2. Mylah Sai says:

    Yes, the work/life balance is hard to achieve and I think a lot of us struggle with it. After work and school, I have no time for myself and I have to wake up to do it all over again. Your story sounds very familiar! Remember to take care of yourself!

    • Hi Mylah! Thanks for reading the blog and posting a comment. Please share the blog with others that can be inspired by it.

      Everyone has some story of an unbalanced life. It may not be the exact story but the similarities are there for us to know we are not alone. I hope sharing my story will encourage others to make the necessary changes to find that workable balance in their lives.

      Thanks for the follow and will follow back #BLMGirls diva!! *hugs*

  3. What a very good way to explain how we all feel about working and balance. I am so glad you were able to start back blogging, reading, cooking and more. Life is about balance and you have found it
    hold on to and and never let it go!!!!!…….

    • Thank you for reading the blog and posting a comment.

      I am doing my best to hold on to the balance I found during medical leave. But gotta admit, this week has been TOUGH!! The one thing I have kept consistent with so far is praying and meditating before getting out of bed. I completed the Deepak Chopra’s 21-medititation challenge and it has helped me be still and quiet to hear from God. So far, I’ve been maintaining my peace and balance.

  4. Karen says:

    I love it! I could have written this too. I can’t remember the last time I have done anything “fun.” Even my recent “vacation” was work. BTW- I LOVE your signature! Fight. Finish. Faith.

    • Thank you Karen for checking out my blog and posting a comment. It seems this particular post resonated in a few people; I’ve received numerous comments and emails about this post on balancing work/life. It sad that it took me to be on medical leave to have “fun” – reading and writing, enjoying the sounds of jazz at home without working, etc. Please know I understand that even “vacations” can deal with work too. Keep striving to find balance and enjoy life! Thanks for your support and will support you. THANKS!! #BLMGirls

  5. Carrie says:

    The balance between work and life is unbelievable sometimes. I remember when I was working as the Assistant Director of a childcare center, I’d have to stay late if someone got sick or called off or until the center died down. I had to work every weekend, every single weekend! Plus, I lived almost 45 minutes away from my workplace, therefore, when I came home after a long day – I’d eat and lay down for bed. Very boring! No time for myself! 😦 So I know how you feel.

    However, we must always remember to take time for ourselves. I know working is very important because it pays the bills, but find sometime to pamper yourself and do the things you enjoy doing.

    Have a great weekend?

    • Thank you Carrie for reading my blog post and commenting. I totally understanding working all day and having to commute home; I still had additional work to do after the job travels. It was to a point where I really did not have a life or time for myself. As you stated, we have to remember to take that time out. Take care of you so you can take care of everything else. Thanks again and I wish you all the best in finding and keeping a balanced life.

  6. Shawn says:

    Just now getting to your blog. Glad you are fighting for your life balance!

    • Thank you Shawn for reading my blog and posting a comment. We have to keep up the fight to have a balanced life. If we don’t do it, no one else will. Please come back for future posts and I welcome your comments!

      Blessings,

      Angela

Leave a Reply

