Motivation Monday

Motivation: to not give up!!

20121126-213406.jpg

I’ve become a professional at starting over. Over a period of time, I’ve developed the muscle of giving up on things and then starting back over. For example, I’ve been stuck, AGAIN, at chapter 9 “Learning To Wait” of John Ortberg‘s If You Want to Walk on Water, You’ve Got to Get Out of the Boat. I’ve been waiting to get out the boat and walk on water but haven’t achieved the goal because I keep giving up. I’ve stopped reading the book – twice at this point – and started it all over again. Instead of starting the book over, I’m going to begin at chapter 9 and finish the book out by tomorrow, Wednesday the latest.

Other areas where I’ve given up and started over again: job searching, de-cluttering my apartment, writing my novel, writing this blog, meeting new people, attempting to date, and so on. Why? What is the true issue for me? Waiting with patience for the things I desire.

“Waiting is the hardest work of hope.” —Lewis Smedes

In John Ortberg’s book, chapter 9 starts off with the quote above about waiting. This pretty much sums it up for me; I’m having a difficult time waiting in this season. I’m waiting for a new opportunity, waiting to find my passion, waiting to develop my purpose, waiting for love, waiting for blessings to come upon my family, waiting, waiting, waiting… I’m a tad bit tired of waiting and want to give up. But in order to not give up hope, I can’t give up on waiting. It’s all about the timing of things.

I’m waiting and hoping:
1) to finish John Ortberg’s book,
2) to execute my blog writing plans and be consistent,
3) to motivate myself and continue writing my novel,
4) to continue my job searching and applying; believing a new opportunity is on it’s way,
5) to de-clutter my apartment and give away items that someone else can benefit from,
6) to have a work/life balance,
7) to have the type of love that I truly deserve.

Waiting, hoping and shifting,

~Angela
Fight. Finish. Faith. (2 Timothy 4:7 NKJV)

About Life and Shifting Seasons

Lover of God, jazz music, movies, books and nature. Southern girl. Smiling face. Spelman grad. Delta Diva. Almond butter/Nutella addict. RunningNerd. Aspiring author. Blogger. Focusing on living an Ephesians 5:16 life… Making the most of EVERY opportunity!
This entry was posted in Monday Motivation, NaBloPoMo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Motivation Monday

  1. MochaChic says:

    Glad to know that I’m not alone in my waiting season and impatience! Smile.,..not giving up!

  2. Britton says:

    Good luck in starting over and ACHIEVING your goals and steadfast! Good things always come to those who wait. 🙂

  3. Camica says:

    LIkewise on waiting and hoping. Every phase I ask God “What is it I need to learn, because I really don’t want to go through these low points again” The place and chapter I’m in I really don’t know why it happened or why the setback. But I’m waiting for an answer and my lesson to learn.

    • Camica, there is a lesson in EVERY thing for us. It is important to have the clarity and wisdom in seeking those things and put into practice. The place or chapter you’re in is where God wants you. Just heed to His word and listen for instructions; He’ll be there at the right time. Keep waiting patiently and anticipate the answers to come. Blessings to you my friend!

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts on my blog. *hugs*

  4. Sheila says:

    Sigh. I’ve been there and sometimes I feel like I’m in an endless cycle of defeat. And thinking about those things I’ve not finished, makes me feel that way. I feel I was a lot more disciplined at 20 than at this current age. Why? I don’t know. I think at this point, people have seen so much, been through so much, handled so much, pushed so much, …so much…so much, that you’re tired. Just tired.

    But this is where 2 things come into play.
    1. Sheer discipline
    2. Prayer

    And in an inverse order.

    It seems at this age, we start to have more mental obstacles than other obstacles. The issues. Problems. Helping others. Managing family. All those things either directly or indirectly manifest themselves (can) as burdens, issues, or simple just yet another task to do, complete. So, we have problems completing, resolving, moving, etc

    Let me add a 3.

    3. (because we know life is engineered to beat us, literally and figuratively, like, who do you REALLY know who does not fall prey to a major issue, not to mention daily struggles, continuous attacks by the enemy) The sheer determination to beat life.

    Because we know life is treacherous and with many, there is a significant issue that thorns almost all at every phase in life, to have an antagonistic attitude against the qualms of life and set your mind determined to beat it/them, will motivate, I believe, just about all of us. Just thinking about it, gives me more motivation than most.

    Sigh. The wonders of life. Truly a journey kid.

    Happy living 🙂 lol

    • Shelia,

      In our 20s, we were more adventurous and went after things without thought of outcomes. As we grow older and experience life, we are more aware of outcomes of our decisions and choices. We become more cognizant of what we do and how it affect others. Plus, we think about our life and the time we have left on earth to make an impact – positive or negative. But in the end, it’s all mental. We have to get pass the mental roadblocks we place on our lives. God doesn’t want us to live a limited a life; He want us to live life to the fullest. As you stated, we have to be 1) prayed up 2) disciplined, and 3) determined to achieve what we want for our lives.

      Recent sermon at church was about how God uses struggles to strengthen us. Whatever you’ve endured in life, it’s either made you stronger or bitter. If you’ve been strengthened by the struggle, it was God and for the good. Don’t let the trials and circumstances of life define you; allow them to strengthen you to become who God created you to be!!

      ~Angela

Leave a Reply

