Developing a Quiet Mind… Living in the Present

Quieting my mind is a huge challenge for me – at work, home, during my sleep and even in my prayer time.

Throughout the day, I’m in a constant state of thinking – thinking about what I need to do, to pick up, drop off, which office requested forms, what pills need to be paid, what I’ll have for lunch, what I’ll have for dinner, what’ll be for lunch/dinner tomorrow, what’s on tomorrow’s agenda, next week’s agenda, and so on and so on. Even when my day is over and I’m in bed to rest, my mind continues to race. I have to keep a pen and pad on my nightstand for my “in the middle of the night worry sessions” and I have to write down whatever is on my mind at that moment. Usually, I’m waking up with something work related on my mind and I have to write it down so I don’t forget the next morning. As a result, I realize I’m always living in the tomorrow instead of being present in the now!

“Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow, it empties today of its strength.”

~Corrie Ten Boom

I was once told that prayer is a two-way street where you speak to God and be still to listen to Him. Well, I’ve had a little trouble on the listening aspect in my prayer life. My prayers typically are a list of blessings for family and friends, worries about tomorrow, my frustrations, doubts, and fears. And I finish it all off with “Amen!”, get in bed and go to sleep. I can admit my prayer life hasn’t been a two-way street; it’s been all one-way with green lights and a speed limit of 80 mph!

“Prayer is not asking. Prayer is putting oneself in the hands of God, at His disposition, and listening to His voice in the depth of our hearts.”

~Mother Teresa

On an episode of Oprah’s Super Soul Sunday, Deepak Chopra discussed his life of meditation, how it has transformed his life and keeps everything in balance. His discussion on why we should meditate, stress being an epidemic, resonated with me. Stress is my side-kick; it rarely leaves my side, like a ball-and-chain hooked to a prisoner. I’ve used various methods (reading, running, and eating) to deal/cope with my stress but I haven’t stayed consistent with those approaches (that’s a lie… I’ve been consistent with the eating method). And I digress… Deepak introduced the Chopra Center 21-Day Meditation Challenge™, focusing on Creating Abundance. This meditation challenge would give the viewers the motivation to develop a positive habit in 21-days.

“Mizz Restless Mind” – me – viewed this as an opportunity to challenge myself to learn to meditate, develop a quiet mind, live in the present and listen to God. I want to learn to tap into my Source for the strength, endurance, peace, joy and all that I need… And it’s within me… HE put it there. But in order to tap into it from within, I have to be still… be quiet… and listen.

“I was always looking outside myself for strength and confidence, but it comes from within. It is there all the time.”

~Anna Freud

Presently, I’ve completed day 8 of the 21-day meditation challenge (by the time this post is published, it’ll be day 9) and I’m feeling good about. Each day, I read my devotional readings, say my prayers, follow the meditation session with follow-through questions, and I meditate again afterwards. My hope and prayer is to continue this practice and be consistent.

I’m giving myself a little TLC (Therapeutic Lifestyle Change) loving: eat healthy, exercise, meditate and live in the present.

Be blessed and be a blessing,

~Angela
Fight. Faith. Finish. (2 Timothy 4:7 NKJV)

About Life and Shifting Seasons

Lover of God, jazz music, movies, books and nature. Southern girl. Smiling face. Spelman grad. Delta Diva. Almond butter/Nutella addict. RunningNerd. Aspiring author. Blogger. Focusing on living an Ephesians 5:16 life… Making the most of EVERY opportunity!
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Mind Games, NaBloPoMo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Developing a Quiet Mind… Living in the Present

  1. Latisha says:

    Good post. Being still doesn’t come easy in the fast, in your face, always on, world we live in.

    • Thank you for reading the blog and posting a comment. It so true about the “fast, in your face, always on world” and the culture we have here. That’s why were are suffering from issues related to stress. I pray that I’ll continue meditating and gain a more stress-less life. Blessings to you!

  2. Camica says:

    I smiled because reading this I know I’m not the only one with a mind racing in the middle of the night. Developing a Quiet Mind is a hard and long journey in this fast paced world we live in. How do I bring a more calming spirit to my wild and active children. Woosah!!!

    • Thank you for reading the blog and posting a comment. You are not along with the racing mind in the middle of the night. Thanks to keeping a note pad and pen on the nightstand and the new method of meditation, I’ve minimized the middle of the night wake-ups. Try keeping a notepad and pen by your bed. When you wake up, write those thoughts down and go back to sleep. Sleep is a precious commodity we can’t afford to lose.

      As for your children, Deepak Chopra offer some techniques for meditation and kids. Check out his website and see what you can find.

      Blessings to you!!

  3. bymochachic says:

    I needed to read this!! I am in search of peace because I am such a worrier! It drives me crazy and my husband…but I have noticed that it is robbing me of strength/energy and I can’t tolerate it anymore. I can’t wait to see how your journey continues and I may start the challenge myself (if it’s not too late)… Good job!!

    • Thank you MochaChic for reading my post and sharing a comment. Being quiet has been a challenge for me for a long time. I have great expectations for change after this 21-day meditation challenge – hoping to hear and sense God more than ever.

  4. Faleshia says:

    Sounds like me! I have tried yoga and meditation, but have yet to learn how to quiet my mind. I need a peace of mind and balance in my life. This is a good post. I understand!

    • Thank you for reading my post and commenting. You have to check out the 21-day meditation challenge by Deepak Chopra. Maybe it can be the tool to get your jump-started in developing a quiet mind. You will find the peace and balance; keep striving to attain it.

  5. Donna says:

    Glad to know I am not the only one who has a hard time quieting their mind. When reading this, it so reminded me of myself waking in the middle of the night and jotting things down on the notepad on my bedside table. Maybe I need to try your new found meditation to quiet my mind. Keep focused on HIM.

    • Ms. Donna,
      Prayer and meditation, combined, has been a real blessing for my spirit and to my mind. I’ve always been a “professional” at talking to God, but haven’t been great about being quiet to listen to Him. If you need additional information, check out the next 21-day meditation challenge with Oprah and Deepak Chopra starting March 11th.

      Blessings,

      Angela

Leave a Reply

