Who or what is blocking you?

It is easy to use an excuse when you’re not able to accomplish a goal. My excuse lately has been “writer’s block”. Have you noticed that gap from March until October of this year? No posts. No picture. Not even a simple one line motivation statement. It was because of “writer’s block”. Truthfully, it hasn’t been the typical writer’s block that has stopped my writing. It’s been ME!

I’ve allowed fear to stop me from flowing in my writing. The mind game of fear had me believing that my writing will be worthless, no one will care or relate to it. I’m only writing into empty space for no apparent reason. Whatever I put my mind and hand to do, it’s going to fail because I’m not worthy to succeed. Fear has blocked me from revealing and stretching whatever possible gift that lies within me. Diagnosis: paralyzed by the fear of failure.

It’s not only been general fear but its manifested in a different avenue. Fear, in the form of  being a perfectionist, has blocked me from writing. Am I writing this grammatically correct and in the right tense? Have I expressed myself in a way people can understand and not be offended by it? I’ve been concerned that whatever I write will be critiqued to pieces or it’ll come across as a “bumbling fool”. As a perfectionist, I’ve been fearful of not doing things right that I eventually do nothing at all. Diagnosis: paralyzed by the perfectionist fear.

And finally, fear in the form of procrastination has been a long-time friend of mine. I’ve been writing for other outlets but not sowing into my projects or blog. As a sistah-friend (EO) defined procrastination to me, “it’s a form of masturbation, you end up screwing yourself” (I apologize if you get offended by that statement. But it does hold some validity to the definition). That is a rough definition of procrastination but it is true. Procrastination is laziness seasoned with fear… Fear of moving forward. Diagnosis: paralyzed by fear dressed as procrastination.

A dear mentor recently checked on me – the “grasshopper” – since I dropped out from communication. I admitted the truth about my “writer’s block” and also being embarrassed that I haven’t written anything in months. He kindly reminded me of two pieces of truth:
1) “The sooner you embrace this truth, the sooner you will overcome procrastination, the paralysis of analysis and the dilemma of the blank page.”

And he oh so lovely stated…
2) “Dear Miss Perfection, You are beset with the affliction that has plagued and paralyzed writers from the dawn of creation. We all think that we will be the first writers in the history of humankind to craft perfection with each stroke of the keys….”

Thanks Booker for heeding God’s nudging to check on the grasshopper and give your words of wisdom. It was timely advice and I appreciate you being bold to follow through.

Well, I have to take off the cloak of fear of failure, perfectionism and procrastination in order to move forward. I will not get anything accomplished if I don’t take the steps myself. I can’t expect to be hand-held through the process or hope someone will take it upon themselves to complete the task for me. It is up to me to take a breath, step out and move forward in the destiny that is awaiting me.

If you are facing your own blocks in life, my prayer for you is that…

~Angela
Faith. Finish. Fight (2 Timothy 4:7 NKJV)

About Life and Shifting Seasons

Lover of God, jazz music, movies, books and nature. Southern girl. Smiling face. Spelman grad. Delta Diva. Almond butter/Nutella addict. RunningNerd. Aspiring author. Blogger. Focusing on living an Ephesians 5:16 life… Making the most of EVERY opportunity!
This entry was posted in Fear, Inspiration, Mind Games, Purpose and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Who or what is blocking you?

  1. Shavay says:

    Well praise God from whom ALL BLESSINGS FLOW! When we can admit the hard truth that WE’VE been our own problem, we immediately shift. Our thought processes can elevate us or bury us in mere seconds, so keep moving forward & don’t stop til you reach your destination….then move again. God didn’t design us to stop..yield then keep it moving. And when we yield, which is simply a pause, it’s to just say Thank You Lord for the journey!
    God Bless You!!

    • I feel a shout & run in my spirit because of your response!! It is so true that once we face the facts & admit the truth, we are freed from the weight to move forward & upward! It’s all about GOAL… Getting On Another Level!! *sheets & orange juice needed* 😊

  2. Marie Young says:

    This affects us all! You’re not aloe. Keep pressing on chica!

    • Thank you for reading my post and for your response. Sometimes, the mind makes you believe you’re the only one experiencing issues. Then, you find out there are others with similar battles. The only way we can overcome it all is 1) be truthful with ourselves 2) face the issue and 3) press/move on. Be blessed!! *hugs*

  3. Booker says:

    Good stuff! Onward! 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    These are things that can cripple us all from time to time. The awesome thing is realizing it and doing something about it. To God be the glory!

    -Karen
    http://www.yourstylistkaren.com

  5. Kathy says:

    I’m glad that you have recognized what has been keeping you in a holding pattern. I also thank God for: speaking through people around you, their honesty, and finally your obedience. I think that’s the first step in overcoming the fear.

    I also believe you have taken a second step in conquering your fear because you have contemplated and now understand WHAT was CAUSING the fear. This is crucial to endure those same things don’t “block” you in the future or not for long. You will be better equipped to avoid it destroy those “blocks.”

    Lastly, you’ve started writing again with this post….another mark of success! Perfect or not, someone, somewhere can learn from you, and they may indeed be going through the very things you are…mistakes and all! Keep writing, keep posting!

    • Thank you dear sister for reading my post and your response. Your loving words and support are building blocks to encourage me to continue on. I appreciate it!! *hugs* I hope what I share will be beneficial for someone in need or who may feel they are alone.

Leave a Reply

