What are you giving up?

The forty day fast of Lent season is upon us and you know what that means…. The common question asked on Ash Wednesday: What are you giving up for Lent?

Discussions among friends and family center around the sacrifices they will make for Lent. From reading the Twitter and Facebook posts, majority are giving up the typical – sweets, caffeine (sodas/coffee). And a new one listed on Twitter – refraining from “cussing like a sailor”! LOL! The context of that tweet, about the language, was hilarious to me.

What does this all mean in general? Is it a fad to continue in tradition or is it deeply rooted for a purpose? I can’t answer that for each person but I believe the reasons varies per individual. Some may truly have a profound purpose in their fasting during Lent. And the others, well, probably follow through with it out of tradition. Honestly, I have to admit… I have followed the crowd when giving something up for Lent. In the past, it was about the tradition of giving something up and discussing it with friends. This year, I’m making a commitment to change this seasonally habit.

What am I giving up for Lent? Negative thoughts, doubts and wavering in my faith. This doesn’t sound like your typical “things to give up for Lent”. Most people give up their favorite food, desert, or beverages; some form of luxury or treat. Negative thoughts and doubts are neither luxuries or treats. But those two combined with my wavering in faith are hindrances in finding my passion and fulfilling my purpose. I truly want to utilize this season to pray on my battles, repent of these sins and focus on developing a positive spirit. And I just don’t want to stop it at forty days; I want this to be a lifestyle change that develops into a daily habit.

For forty days, I will post a positive message each day… To encourage others and, most importantly, to encourage myself. If I’m expecting to find my purpose and develop my passion, it will be necessary to fortify the foundation with a positive mind-set. Therefore, I’ve decided to have a motto for the observance of Lent season. The motto for Lent will be the same as my blood type… B Positive!

Continuing to find myself by living my best life,

~Angela
Fight. Finish. Faith (2 Timothy 4:7 NKJV)

About Life and Shifting Seasons

Lover of God, jazz music, movies, books and nature. Southern girl. Smiling face. Spelman grad. Delta Diva. Almond butter/Nutella addict. RunningNerd. Aspiring author. Blogger. Focusing on living an Ephesians 5:16 life… Making the most of EVERY opportunity!
This entry was posted in Faith, Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

