Running IS Living…

Some time ago, I had a friend joke and tease me about my “social” life – or lack thereof one. My “social” life appears to revolve around work, running and my constant talk about running. One of girls commented to me that “running and working is NOT living”. It is true… I work a lot and run as much as I can. My job takes up a considerable amount of my time – a typical work schedule in addition to taking up some of my personal time in the evenings. With my work schedule, I literally have to schedule my fitness time in order to keep up. Yes… my calendar is color coordinated for my work commitments, conference, race travels, ministry meetings, sorority meetings, deadlines and fitness/running workout times.

You may think my friend was right about “running and working is NOT living”. But what my friend failed to realize, I do more things behind the scenes to enjoy life or make sure I’m living. I enjoy attending jazz and neo-soul music concerts; I’m a jazz lover at heart. Attending writing workshops and book signings are of high importance for me – the workshops and book events encourage me and help develop my writing skills. These activities, including shopping, traveling and reading, are all part of my “living”. And so is running – it happens to be a major part of my living as well. You may ask about dating… Well, that segment of my life is on hold temporarily. We’ll discuss that at another time.

Running has become a significant part of my life and it’s been desperately needed. Running helps me deal with the stress brought on by work demands and life’s responsibilities. I’m able to release and let go of my stress on the pavement. There are a number of reasons why running is living for me:

  • Running clears my mind of the anxieties of life. It gives me time to talk to God about my struggles and battles in life — “casting the whole of your care [all your anxieties, all your worries, all your concerns, once and for all] on Him” (1 Peter 5:7 AMP).
  • The runner’s high helps elevate my energy levels and gives a positive boost to my attitude.
  • Each mile I am able to achieve, encourages me to go further and faster. This propels me to reach and achieve goals I once believed were not attainable.
  • The encouragement and cheerleading from my running buddies pours into my spirit.
  • Diabetes “runs” in my family… So, I figured I’ll run from it! I have witnessed the effects of diabetes in my family and I am determined not to become another statistic.
  • I run for ME! No one else can take better care of me like ME… And I can’t expect anyone to do it for me.
  • And finally, I run because I love the look of my legs when I wear heels! *self-admiration moment* 

Running has become a significant part of my living. It is the only time I focus on me – letting go of the worries of life, leaving my cares on the pavement, clearing my mind and allowing God’s presence to calm my spirit. The presence of God is so great when I run at Stone Mountain Park. It’s something about the nature setting that creates a peaceful atmosphere in my spirit and allows my mind to be truly be clear to hear from God. Running gives me the most peaceful time to talk to God and discuss/discover the purpose in the challenges of life. More importantly, running is my opportunity to give thanks for each day I am on this earth. 

Yes, my dear friend… Running IS living, at least for me.

Continuing to find myself by living my best life,

~Angela 
Fight. Finish. Faith (2 Timothy 4:7 NKJV)

About Life and Shifting Seasons

Lover of God, jazz music, movies, books and nature. Southern girl. Smiling face. Spelman grad. Delta Diva. Almond butter/Nutella addict. RunningNerd. Aspiring author. Blogger. Focusing on living an Ephesians 5:16 life… Making the most of EVERY opportunity!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

