Is it too late to travel to Europe and find myself?

Growing up, you ever hear stories about privileged kids taking a year off after high school to “find themselves”? I only knew of one guy in my home town that was able to do so. The other privileged kids, that I was aware of traveling to Europe, were from television shows or movies. I wasn’t so privileged to travel to Europe. My “foreign land” was Mobile AL!! I was shipped there each summer to find myself… Working in a little stop-n-go grocery store my Aunt Sylvia and Uncle Calvin (Bubba) owned in the hood. Welcome to my Europe!

To travel to Europe and find yourself… Sounds like it would be an amazing experience. Backpacking across Europe and finding rest in a bunk bed at one of the local hostels for backpackers. Enjoying the adventures of traveling in a foreign land, unable to speak the language, but able to navigate around the country by the generosity of others. No worries, no cares, just you and the great adventures that wait ahead of you. *insert long sigh* Is it possible to drop every responsibility I handle to travel the world? To actually let go of every burden I carry and go find myself? Being completely free from the restraints of responsibilities and travel across foreign lands.

Is it too late to travel to Europe and find myself?

*Snapping back into reality* Truth of the matter, that search would not be about finding me or my passion. It would only be a method to advert solving my current status of searching for my passion. Not a method of solving but of escaping. Oh… If I could only have the sensational escape talents of The Great Houdini! I can no longer escape the challenges of life nor give up on the search for my passion. It’s time to shift into a new season and navigate the various challenges of life. That’s how each of us truly find ourselves. The circumstances we face – whether financial, emotional, vocational or in relationships – help develop the person God created each of us to be. It is not the everyday challenges of life that weigh you down. It’s the methods, in which we chose, in managing those challenges life throws at you.

This shifting season in my life is a challenge for me. I’ve always been the type of person to have a back-up to my back-up plan. In fact, I use the E-N-T-I-R-E alphabet as labels for each back-up plan (plan A, plan B, plan C…. plan X, Y, and Z). When necessary, I will double up the letters to create a new string of back-up plans. That’s not the case in this season. I’m truly at a stand-still. Instead of looking down with sadness and depressed, I’m looking up to the heavens for godly direction from my Heavenly Father. Knowing that “every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father…” (James 1:17 NKJV).

I’m finding myself… in the comforts of my own home.

~Angela
Fight. Finish. Faith (2 Timothy 4:7 NKJV)

About Life and Shifting Seasons

Lover of God, jazz music, movies, books and nature. Southern girl. Smiling face. Spelman grad. Delta Diva. Almond butter/Nutella addict. RunningNerd. Aspiring author. Blogger. Focusing on living an Ephesians 5:16 life… Making the most of EVERY opportunity!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Passion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

